Simon manoha

Deeply rooted artist 

Simon Manoha was born in Guilherand Granges, Ardèche, in 1987.

He set up his workshop in the heart of his origins, next to an Anagama (wood-burning oven), sources of clay and abundant minerals used for his enamels in Ardèche, where he is currently working on a new series "Décommodage" which combines earth, metal, wood and stone.

Him

"The flowers, the fruits, it comes after, must first speak of the roots. There are a whole bunch of different roots: the taproots, the fasciculars, the tracantes, the aerial roots etc. Deleuze had his delirium of rhizomes and in the grip of the pivots for reasons related to his time. In all cases it is in the earth that we anchor, and towards the sun that we rise. I had therefore decided to stay at home. (in Ardèche), support the bases of my territory, take the clay on which I have walked so much, then cook with wood: an Anagama oven is a manufacturer of sunshine. For a week we sleep little, well anchored in the earth we end up rising as in a state of trance. Fatigue accumulates, we carry the ceramics with us, under our arm and we make a sun, we go to it to share bouquets of flowers, send seeds and there, to share the fruits of an encounter and an obsession. 

.

.

.

.
The sculpture as repetition slips between the awkwardness of an imprint left on the ground and the obsession with eternity. As for its difference, it is my trace, my stroke of estèque or my fingerprint on the clay, forever repeated / disseminated in a network of dissolution / solution of an identity that is created as much as it is. comes undone. You watch it growing, my footprint, so come closer and walk on it nothing to fear - I would come back. The hand will eventually grip the memories and sculpt the memories. In the meantime, let's play the blocks of clay: sometimes soft to allow the opening to the world which comes into us as if to keep its imprint. Sometimes hard to avoid a fatal deformation and to penetrate the beings which surround us - those whose intelligent softness will have an appetite for some cruelty. 
For it is in the depths of underground root systems, in the dark night of mystics that cruelty can be worked without limit. Don't be afraid to get your paws dirty a bit, and it sometimes smells like shit. But it's like after a good mud bath, we would come out all protruding with a small nose under the armpit: "Here, it is for you.". There where the silence of passions bursts everything, me you the world: you understand, it'is there that I live. But sometimes I go back up with one or two truffles under my arms: do you like it? "

Simon.M

Meet 

Artworks

Simon Manoha

Artiste enraciné 

Simon Manoha est né à Guilherand Granges, Ardèche, en 1987.

Il installe son atelier au sein de ses origines, à côté d’un Anagama (four à bois), de sources d’argiles et d’innombrables minéraux utilisés pour ses émaux en Ardèche, où il travaille actuellement sur une nouvelle série "Décommodage" qui allie terre, métal, bois et pierre.

Lui

"Les fleurs les fruits, ça vient après, faut d’abord parler des racines. Des racines il y en a tout un tas de différentes: les pivotantes, les fasciculaires, les tracantes, les racines aériennes etc. Deleuze avait son délire des rhizomes et en grippe les pivots pour des raisons liées à son temps. Dans tous les cas c’est dans la terre qu’on s’ancre, et vers le soleil qu’on s’élève. J’avais donc décidé de rester chez moi (en Ardèche), soutenir les bases de mon territoire, prendre la glaise sur laquelle j’ai tant marché puis cuire au bois: un four Anagama c’est un fabricant de soleil. Pendant une semaine on dort peu, bien ancré dans la terre on finit par s’élever comme en état de transe. La fatigue s’accumule, on porte les céramiques avec nous, sous notre bras et on fabrique un soleil, on va vers lui pour partager des bouquets de fleurs, envoyer des graines ci et là, partager les fruits d’une rencontre et d’une obsession. 
La sculpture comme répétition se glisse entre la maladresse d’une empreinte laissée sur le sol et l’obsession de l’éternité. Quant à sa différence, il s’agit de ma trace, mon coup d’estèque ou mon empreinte de doigt sur la glaise, à jamais répété/disséminé dans un réseau de dissolution/solution d’une identité qui se crée autant qu’elle se défait. Vous l’observez grandissante, ma trace de pas, rapprochez-vous donc et marchez dessus rien à craindre - je reviendrais. La main finira par poigner les mémoires et sculpter les souvenirs. En attendant jouons les bloc de terre glaise: tantôt molle pour permettre l’ouverture au monde qui rentre en nous comme pour garder son empreinte. Tantôt dure pour éviter une déformation fatale et pénétrer les étants qui nous entourent - ceux dont l’intelligente mollesse aura de l’appétence pour quelque cruauté. 
Car c’est dans les profondeurs des systèmes racinaires sous-terrains, dans la nuit noire des mystiques que la cruauté peut être travaillée sans limite. Faut pas avoir peur de se salir un peu les paluches, et ça arrive que ça sente la merde. Mais c’est comme après un bon bain de boue, on en ressortirait tout saillant avec une petite truffe sous l’aisselle: «Tient, elle est pour toi.». Là où le silence des passions fait tout éclater, moi vous le monde: vous comprenez, c’est là bas que je vis. Mais il arrive que je remonte avec une ou deux truffes sous les bras: vous aimez?"

Simon.M

Meet 

Artworks