What is Wabi-Sabi?

"Wabi-sabi", which was introduced from Taoism to Zen Buddhism, gently accepts the beauty of fragility, nature and melancholy.

It is common not to understand the meaning of the word “wabi-sabi”.
It is an important part of Japanese aesthetics and it is an old
ideal that still influences the tastes and standards of Japanese beauty,
but it is believed that "wabi-sabi" cannot be translated or even defined
in Japanese culture. ..
It tends to be used suddenly in the moment you taste
something deeply. However, when I ask for a detailed explanation, I almost always get a response saying "I can't!"
"Wabi-sabi" is a way of seeing the world from a unique perspective.














studio rö_edited roberta busato.jpg

                      The concept of "wabisabi" originated in Taoism during the Song Dynasty (960-                            1279) in China and was incorporated into Zen Buddhism.

                    In the first place, it was seen as an austere and modest way to admire beauty.

                      In modern times it has become a more gradual way to appreciate the fragility, nature, and melancholy ,and appearance imperfect and inadequate of everything from buildings to pottery and the floral arrangement.

                       Wabi ” means “the grace of a humble and simple thing .

                                " Sabi " means:  

                   "The passage of time and the deterioration that accompanies it". The combination of the two created a unique feeling which is extremely important for Japanese culture. However, just like Buddhist monks believed that words hinder understanding, this explanation could not only scratch the surface of "Wabi-sabi".

Professor Tanehisa Otabe from the Aesthetics and Arts Laboratory at the University of Tokyo said that upon entering the understanding of Wabi-Sabi, the ancient Wabi-cha method (the tea masters Murata Juko and Sen no Rikyu were completed from the late 15th to 16th centuries).

Choosing common Japanese pottery over the popular (and technically flawless) imported pottery from China at the time, the two defied the rules of beauty up to this point. Until then, beautiful things were accompanied by bright colors and elaborate decorations. Faced with the lack of easy-to-understand clues, tea ceremony guests were invited to thoroughly sample the delicate colors and textures that could not be seen with the magnificent vessels.

Studio RÖ_edited.jpg

Insufficiency stimulates the imagination

Wabi-sabi puts an end to unfinished or inadequate things. That leaves room for the imagination, says Professor Odabe.

By being actively involved in something called Wabi-Sabi, three things can be achieved. You can realize the power of nature involved in the production of the artwork, accept the power of nature and step out of dualism (the idea that we are separate from the environment around us).

.

.

.

.

.

 

Combined with these experiences, humans can see themselves as part of the natural world. Instead of being separated by the structure of society. Bumps and failures are seen as natural creations and not as flaws. For example, moss overgrown with bumpy walls or trees swaying in the

 

 

 

The aesthetic sense of Wabi-Sabi opened our eyes to our daily life. Professor Odabe says that Wabi-Sabi gave the Japanese a way to treat ordinary things as unusual and beautiful . In Japan, which is struck by catastrophic natural disasters almost regularly, accepting things as they are is important for the culture.

 

 

Rather than simply positioning nature as a dangerous and devastating force, we can use the concept of Wabi-sabi to position nature as a source of beauty. No matter its size, it will be an object of appreciation. Thanks to Wabi-Sabi, nature becomes the source of colors , designs and patterns, the source of stimulus and the power to cooperate rather than oppose.

studio rö milan_edited.jpg
KATEDRA.jpg

Inevitable acceptance of death

Accepting that death is an inevitable part of the world in nature is the key to truly understanding Wabi-Sabi.

In his book "Wabi Sabi: The Japanese Art of Impermanence" , writer Andrew Juniper wrote about "Wabi-sabi". "Incorporate the view of uncompromising life and death in order to focus on the fleeting beauty that can be seen in all things immutable."

The models of nature are simply beautiful in themselves, but they are profound when understood in the context of the accentuation of impermanence and awareness of death.

 

Why a Wabi-Sabi Interior ?  

 

In a world where perfection is required, always bigger, more beautiful, richer, younger, especially more stress and frustrations, the Wabi Sabi is a real refuge for the spirit , a return to the sources, to the real ones. values, to Self. Making your interior a "wabi-sabi" place is a real refuge for your whole being , rid of the superfluous, the mind calms down, the race for perfection stops, stress is reduced. Thanks to Wabi-Sabi we better understand the universe around us,  the impermanence of things, the acceptance of time and of the Self.  

The Wabi-Sabi calls for minimalization, relieved of the superfluous, the mind finds clarity and peace, it enters a meditative state of appeasement:  Make your interior your refuge.

Qu'est ce que le Wabi-Sabi ?

"Wabi-sabi", qui a été introduit du taoïsme au bouddhisme zen, accepte doucement la beauté de la fragilité, de la nature et de la mélancolie.

Il est courant de ne pas comprendre le sens du mot «wabisabi».

C'est une partie importante de l'esthétique japonaise et c'est un vieil

idéal qui influence encore les goûts et les normes de beauté japonaise,

mais on pense que le "wabisabi" ne peut pas être traduit ou même défini

dans la culture japonaise. ..

Il a tendance à être utilisé soudainement au moment où vous goûtez

profondément quelque chose. Cependant, lorsque je demande une explication

détaillée, je reçois presque toujours une réponse disant "Je ne peux pas!"

"Wabi-sabi" est une façon de voir le monde d'un point de vue unique.

studio rö_edited roberta busato.jpg

 

 

Le professeur Tanehisa Otabe du laboratoire d'esthétique et d'arts de l'Université de Tokyo a déclaré qu'à l'entrée de la compréhension du Wabi-Sabi, l'ancienne méthode Wabi-cha (les maîtres du thé Murata Juko et Sen no Rikyu ont été achevés de la fin du XVe au XVIe siècle).

En choisissant la poterie japonaise commune plutôt que la poterie importée populaire (et techniquement impeccable) de Chine à l'époque, les deux ont défié les règles de la beauté jusqu'à ce point.

 

Jusque-là, les belles choses étaient accompagnées de couleurs vives et de décorations élaborées. Face au manque d'indices faciles à comprendre, les invités de la cérémonie du thé ont été invités à goûter à fond les couleurs et les textures délicates qui ne pouvaient être vues avec les magnifiques récipients.

Studio RÖ_edited.jpg

L'insuffisance stimule l'imagination

Wabi-sabi met fin aux choses inachevées ou inadéquates. Cela laisse place à l'imagination, dit le professeur Odabe.

En étant activement impliqué dans quelque chose appelé Wabi-Sabi, trois choses peuvent être réalisées. Vous pouvez réaliser le pouvoir de la nature impliqué dans la production de l'œuvre, accepter le pouvoir de la nature et sortir du dualisme (l'idée que nous sommes séparés de l'environnement qui nous entoure).

Combinées à ces expériences, les humains peuvent se considérer comme faisant partie du monde naturel. Au lieu d'être séparé par la structure de la société. Les bosses et les failures sont perçues comme des créations naturelles et non comme des défauts. Par exemple, de la mousse envahie par les murs cahoteux ou des arbres se balançant au vent.

 

Le sens esthétique de Wabi-Sabi nous a ouvert les yeux sur notre vie quotidienne. Le professeur Odabe dit que Wabi-Sabi a donné aux Japonais un moyen de traiter les choses ordinaires comme inhabituelles et belles. Au Japon, qui est frappé presque régulièrement par des catastrophes naturelles catastrophiques, accepter les choses telles qu'elles sont est important pour la culture

 

 

Plutôt que de simplement positionner la nature comme une force dangereuse et dévastatrice, nous pouvons utiliser le concept de Wabi-sabi pour positionner la nature comme une source de beauté. Peu importe sa taille, ce sera un objet d'appréciation. Grâce à Wabi-Sabi, la nature devient la source de couleurs, de dessins et de motifs, la source de stimulus et le pouvoir de coopérer plutôt que de s'opposer.

studio rö milan_edited.jpg
KATEDRA.jpg

Pourquoi un Intérieur Wabi-Sabi ? 

Dans un monde où la perfection est de rigueur, toujours plus grand, plus beau, plus riche, plus jeune, surtout plus de stress et de frustrations , le Wabi Sabi est un véritable refuge pour l'esprit, un retour aux sources, aux vraies valeurs, à Soi. Faire de son intérieur un endroit "wabi-sabi" est un véritable refuge pour tout son être, débarrassé du superflu l'esprit s'apaise, la course à la perfection s'arrête, le stress diminu. Grâce au Wabi-Sabi nous comprenons mieux l'univers qui nous entoure,  l'impermanence des choses, l'acceptation du temps et de Soi. 

Le Wabi-Sabi appelle au minimalise, délesté du superflu l'esprit trouve la clarté et la paix, il entre dans un état méditatif d'apaisement : Faites de votre intérieur votre refuge.